Crook Manifesto by Colson Whitehead - review by Connor Harrison

Connor Harrison

Across 110th Street

Crook Manifesto


Fleet 319pp £20

Crook Manifesto, Colson Whitehead’s ninth novel and the sequel to Harlem Shuffle (2021), begins in Harlem in 1971. In need of tickets for his daughter to see a sold-out Jackson 5 concert, Ray Carney, furniture salesman and ex-fence, must dip back into the world of con men and dirty cops he left four years ago. But what begins as a simple deal between Ray and Detective Munson turns into a night of ultraviolence and theft, leaving Ray working crooked once again.

Although packed with enough action to fill a whole novel, this is only the first of three interconnected stories in Crook Manifesto. The second introduces us to Pepper and Zippo, the former a heavy bruiser for hire, ‘an emissary from the ugly side of things’, the latter an

Sign Up to our newsletter

Receive free articles, highlights from the archive, news, details of prizes, and much more.

RLF - March

A Mirror - Westend

Follow Literary Review on Twitter