Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell - review by Christopher Hart

Christopher Hart

Savage Life

Cloud Atlas


Sceptre 530pp £16.99 order from our bookshop

FOLLOWING GHOSTWRITTEN AND number9dream, David Mitchell's third novel is the hugely ambitious Cloud Atlas. Structurally, it consists of six stories, or perhaps should say voices, stitched together into a patchwork whole and forming a meditation on mankind's desire for power and knowledge, and the moral implications of the doctrine of reincarnation.

'The Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing' tells of an idealistic young American setting sail for the South Pacific aboard the Prophetess in 1850. His destination is the Chatham Islands, once inhabited solely by the peaceful Moriori but subsequently conquered by their warlike cousins, the Maori (who also wiped out a

Sign Up to our newsletter

Receive free articles, highlights from the archive, news, details of prizes, and much more.

The Incomparible Monsignor

Kafka Drawings

Follow Literary Review on Twitter