Andrew Cowley

Who Is Putin?

Putin's Progress: A Biography of Russia's Enigmatic President, Vladimir Putin


Simon & Schuster 370pp £17.99 order from our bookshop

Inside Putin's Russia


Granta Books 350pp £20 order from our bookshop

Black Earth: Russia After The Fall


Harper Collins 511pp £25 order from our bookshop

PART OF THE Russian genius is the love of simplifying the complex. Sergei Roy – the grandfather of The Moscow News, Moscow’s oldest liberal paper – likes to squeeze most of twentieth-century Russian history into a ‘fourstage arrangement’. Beginning with the death of Lenin in 1924 and ending with the death of Stalin in 1953 was the period of Stalinisation. De-Stalinisation began under Khrushchev from 1953 to 1964. His successors up to 1985 – Brezhnev, Andropov and Chernenko – presided over ‘vegetarian’ Stalinism. The final demolition of Stalinism took place under Gorbachev and Yeltsin.

Follow Literary Review on Twitter

  • Last Tweets

    • Here's reviewing Rachel Kushner's novel about a woman caught in the injustice of the US prison system,… ,
    • 'Hart sets out to unsettle, startle and disturb. In this strange, disconcerting, radical version of a strange, disc… ,
    • Here is @MannJessica's June crime fiction round-up, discussing books by Georges Simenon, Jack Grimwood,… ,
    • John Stubbs reviews Stephen Greenblatt's latest, 'Tyrant: Shakespeare on Power' ,
    • RT : What happened when US military strategist Herman Kahn - one of Kubrick’s three models for Dr Strangelove - took LSD… ,
    • 'Pollan has no doubt that the use of psychedelics could have a powerfully beneficial effect on a range of condition… ,
    • A memoir about an Untouchable family and the 'formation of modern India': 'Ants among Elephants' by @gidla_sujatha… ,